World Famous Comics > About | Columns | Comics | Contests | Features | Shop

Schedule TODAY!
Wed, March 21, 2018

Anything Goes TriviaAnything Goes Trivia
Bob Rozakis

Last KissLast Kiss
John Lustig

Friends & Affiliates
Mr. Rebates

World Famous Comics: An Unlikely Prophet: Revelations on the Path Without Form
An Unlikely Prophet: Revelations on the Path Without Form
Bookmark and Share
By: Alvin Schwartz
Publisher: Divina
Average Rating: see reviews
Binding: Paperback
Feature: Used Book in Good Condition
Number of Items: 1
Number of Pages: 242
Publication Date: June 01, 1997
Studio: Divina

Other Editions:Features:
  • Used Book in Good Condition
Enlarge Image
An Unlikely Prophet: Revelations on the Path Without Form
List Price: $12.95
Used Price: $8.99
3rd Party New: $46.14

Buy from Amazon

Editorial Comments

Product Description:
In 1947, Alvin Schwartz wrote what the New York Times called perhaps the first existential novel in America. And as a friend to Saul Bellow, Jackson Pollock and some of the best minds in psychology and physics, he was part of a rich intellectual world. Now, toward the close of his life, the sum of his experiences has led Schwartz to a new place, and onto a new path. In his compelling and powerful spiritual memoir, Schwartz leads us from a heartfelt skepticism of things unseen to a bright new awareness of possibility. An Unlikely Prophet is a remarkable personal testament on the relationship between what we experience and what we believe.

For fans of Carlos Castaneda, Richard Bach, and Dan Millman. Review:
If you like comic books, especially Superman, and have an interest in Eastern spirituality, An Unlikely Prophet is the perfect book for you. Alvin Schwartz wrote the Superman newspaper strips in the golden age of comics (the 1940s and '50s). He believes that writing the strips had tremendous long-term personal spiritual ramifications. In 1994, decades after he quit writing Superman because of a dispute with his editor, Schwartz was contacted by a seven-foot-tall Tibetan man who claimed to be a being "created by the imagination of another man." What follows is Schwartz's spiritual memoir, An Unlikely Prophet. Stunning at every turn, Schwartz shares stories ranging from a time-traveling Hawaiian kahuna (who met Superman on a beach) to the magic behind Jackson Pollock's drip paintings to the Superman villain, Mr. Mxyztplk, as a Tibetan demon.


Related Categories:
Recommended Reads
  Comic Strips
  How to Draw Comics
  How to Draw Manga

  AiT/Planet Lar
  Alternative Comics
  Archie Comics
  Avatar Press
  DC Comics
    Justice League
  Dark Horse Comics
    Sin City
    Star Wars
  Drawn & Quarterly
  Devil's Due Publishing
  Fantagraphics Books
  IDW Publishing
  Image Comics
  Kitchen Sink Press
  Marvel Comics
    Fantastic Four
  Oni Press
  SLG/Slave Labor
  Top Shelf Productions

  ADV Manga
  Antarctic Press
  Central Park Media
  Digital Manga
  Graphic-Sha Publishing
  Viz Communications
  Yen Press

  Art Instruction & Ref.
  Art Reference
  Computer Graphics
  Drawing (general)
  Figure Drawing
  Graphic Design
  Screenwriting Film
  Screenwriting TV


See Also...
 Arts & Photography
 Biographies & Memoirs
 Business & Money
 Children's Books
 Christian Books & Bibles
 Comics & Graphic Novels
 Computers & Technology
 Cookbooks, Food & Wine
 Crafts, Hobbies & Home
 Education & Teaching
 Engineering & Transportation
 Gay & Lesbian
 Health, Fitness & Dieting
 Humor & Entertainment
 Literature & Fiction
 Medical Books
 Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
 Parenting & Relationships
 Politics & Social Sciences
 Religion & Spirituality
 Science & Math
 Science Fiction & Fantasy
 Sports & Outdoors
 Teen & Young Adult
 Test Preparation

World Famous Comics > About | Columns | Comics | Contests | Features | Shop

© 1995 - 2018 World Famous Comics. All rights reserved. All other © & ™ belong to their respective owners.
Terms of Use . Privacy Policy . Contact Info